نقش الملك سنحاريب على الأسد المجنح

على جدران قصره الذي بناه في نينوى لزوجته الملكة تاشمتوم شرات Tašmetum-šarrat، بل على أجسام الأسود المجنحة التي كانت تحمي مدخل هذا القصر.

كتب الملك الآشوري الجبار سنحاريب:

“الى تاشمتوم شرات، الملكة…الزوجة…حبّي، التي جعلتها آلهة الخلق أجمل نساء الكون، بنيت قصرا من الحب والفرح والسعادة. بأمر آشور أبو الآلهة وعشتار ملكة السماء سنعيش معا بصحة في هذا القصر ونستمتع فيه بالهناء” 

 (الترجمة من الآشورية)

Résultat de recherche d'images pour

No Comments

لوح الطوفان

 أشهر لوح مسماري من بلاد الرافدين وهو جزء من ملحمة جلجامش، عثر عليه في نينوى، شمال العراق، ويعود الى القرن السابع قبل الميلاد.

جمع الملك الآشوري آشور بانيبال (669-631 قبل الميلاد) مكتبة من آلاف الألواح المسمارية في قصره في نينوى. وتضمنت الخطابات والنصوص القانونية، وقوائم بأسماء أشخاص وحيوانات وبضائع، وثروة من المعلومات العلمية، فضلا عن مجموعة من الأشعار والقصص والأساطير وأشهر هذه كانت قصة جلجامش، حاكم أوروك الأسطوري، و بحثه عن الخلود.

ملحمة جلجامش عمل أدبي ضخم، وهي أطول قطعة أدبية في اللغة الأكدية (لغة بابل وآشور). وهي من القصص الخالدة في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأدنى القديم، ولها نسخ شبيهة وجدت أيضا في حتوساس (عاصمة الحثيين) في تركيا وتل مسكنة في سورية وتل المتسلم في شمال فلسطين.

وهذا اللوح هو اللوح الحادي عشر من الملحمة، يصف لقاء جلجامش مع اتونابشتم، (الذي يمثل نبي الله نوح في الكتاب المقدس).

تلقى اتونابشتم تحذيرا من خطة الآلهة بإرسال طوفان عظيم مدمر، فقام ببناء سفينة وتحميلها جميع أهله وأقاربه، والحيوانات المستأنسة والبرية والحرفيين المهرة من كل نوع نجا اتونابشتم من الفيضان الذي استمر لمدة ستة أيام في حين تم تدمير الجنس البشري كله، وتوقفت سفينته على جبل يسمى نيموش. فأطلق حمامة لكنها عادت اليه حيث لم تجد اليابسة، وأخيرا اطلق غرابا لم يعود، وتبين له أن المياه قد انحسرت.

وقد تم اكتشاف هذه النسخة الآشورية من قصة الطوفان المذكورة في العهد القديم في عام 1872 من قبل جورج سميث ، الباحث الآثاري في المتحف البريطاني والذي عند قرائته للنص وفك رموزه قفز وهرع حول الغرفة في حالة كبيرة من الإثارة، مما أثار دهشة الحاضرين، حيث بدأ في خلع ملابسه صائحا وجدتها…وجدتها!

No Comments

Tag: Nineveh

The inscriptions on the winged lions

No Comments

Long time ago, Sennacherib, the mighty ruthless king, posted this text on the wall (actually on a pair of winged lions – apsasāt – that guarded the entrance) of the palace he
built for his queen Tašmetum-šarrat in Nineveh.

Here is the translation from Assyrian:

“And for Tašmetum-šarrat, the queen, the wife, my love, whose features Belet-ili (the goddess of creation) has made more beautiful than all other women, I had a palace of love, joy and pleasure built.

By the order of Aššur, father of the gods, and heavenly queen Ištar, may we both live long in health and happiness in this palace and enjoy well- being to the full!”

Résultat de recherche d'images pour

The Flood Tablet

No Comments

The most famous cuneiform tablet from Mesopotamia.

Relating part of the Epic of Gilgamesh, From Nineveh, northern Iraq, Neo-Assyrian, 7th century BC.
The Assyrian King Ashurbanipal (reigned 669-631 BC) collected a library of thousands of cuneiform tablets in his palace at Nineveh. It included letters, legal texts, lists of people, animals and goods, and a wealth of scientific information, as well as myths and legends.
The best known of these was the story of Gilgamesh, a legendary ruler of Uruk, and his search for immortality. The Epic of Gilgamesh is a huge work, the longest piece of literature in Akkadian language  (the language of Babylonia and Assyria). It was known across the ancient Near East, with versions also found at Hattusas (capital of the Hittites), Emar in Syria and Megiddo in the Levant.
This, the eleventh tablet of the Epic, describes the meeting of Gilgamesh with Utnapishtim. Like Noah in the Hebrew Bible, Utnapishtim had been forewarned of a plan by the gods to send a great flood. He built a boat and loaded it with all his precious possessions, his kith and kin, domesticated and wild animals and skilled craftsmen of every kind.
Utnapishtim survived the flood for six days while mankind was destroyed, before landing on a mountain called Nimush. He released a dove and a swallow but they did not find dry land to rest on, and returned. Finally a raven that he released did not return, showing that the waters must have receded.
This Assyrian version of the Old Testament flood story was identified in 1872 by George Smith, an assistant in The British Museum. On reading the text he … jumped up and rushed about the room in a great state of excitement, and, to the astonishment of those present, began to undress himself.
Courtesy & currently located at the British Museum, London. Photo taken by Jessica Spengler.